The Dodge Brothers Company machine shop was founded in the early 1900s by brothers Horace Elgin Dodge and John Francis Dodge. Dodge was originally a supplier of parts and assemblies for Detroit-based automakers and began building complete automobiles under the “Dodge Brothers” brand in 1914. Dodge stopped making school buses in 1978.
This bus is unique for having bench seating that runs the length of the bus along the side walls as well as down the middle of the bus. Older children would sit along the windows and the smaller children would sit back to back along the middle section. It was used in Roanoke County as well as the city of Salem.
Donated by Harry Messimer